- Flames Rising - http://www.flamesrising.com -

April Fool’s Round-up

Posted By Matt-M-McElroy On April 1, 2008 @ 6:38 am In News | No Comments

Practical jokes, hoaxes and other funny events mark April 1st in several countries. Publishers and fans of Horror & Dark Fantasy enjoy a good laugh as much as anyone. Here is our ongoing list of April Fools jokes, events and news, stay tuned as we update with new links.

Wizards of the Coast [1] – The new D&D site is certainly interesting. The Name Change Promotion [2] is a great idea!

Steve Jackson Games [3]GURPS Tank! and a buyout offer from Atlas Games [4] (who incidentally is being bought by Ronin Arts [5], which is being bought by, you guessed it, Steve Jackson Games [6]).

White Wolf LJ [7]Shadows of Iceland via Bax’s Inside Awesomeness!

Mohawk Media [8]Mr. T Versus Dracula by Christopher Bunting.

ThinkGeek [9] – My favorites are the Spazztroids – Caffeinated Cereal and the Defensius – Labyrinth Lock.

World of Warcraft [10] – New Hero Class Revealed: Bard and World of Warcraft: The Molten Core™ [11]!

Kingdom of Loathing [12] – is now the Kingdom of Salad.

City of Heroes [13] – Visual Sounds! based on the comic book staple of onomatopoeia.

Dresden Files RPG [14] – It’s time to reveal the mysteries… of the Green Court Vampire!

Wookiepedia [15] – Now entirely in Aurebesh!

Keep us posted with your favorites and we’ll update the list!

Happy April Fool’s Day!


Article printed from Flames Rising: http://www.flamesrising.com

URL to article: http://www.flamesrising.com/april-fools/

URLs in this post:

[1] Wizards of the Coast: http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/welcome

[2] Name Change Promotion: http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/4news/20080401a

[3] Steve Jackson Games: http://www.sjgames.com/ill/archives.html?y=2008&m=April&d=1

[4] Atlas Games: http://www.atlas-games.com

[5] Ronin Arts: http://www.roninarts.com

[6] Steve Jackson Games: http://www.sjgames.com

[7] White Wolf LJ: http://community.livejournal.com/whitewolf_lj/67714.html

[8] Mohawk Media: http://www.mohawkmedia.co.uk/mrtversus.htm

[9] ThinkGeek: http://www.thinkgeek.com/index.shtml?cpg=cj

[10] World of Warcraft: http://www.wow-europe.com/wrath/features/bard/bardclass.xml

[11] World of Warcraft: The Molten Core™: http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/moltencore

[12] Kingdom of Loathing: http://www5.kingdomofloathing.com/login.php?loginid=ffafe202b64d4aa4a7d4e6090dd017b1

[13] City of Heroes: http://www.cityofheroes.com/news/archives/2008/04/city_of_heroes_47.html

[14] Dresden Files RPG: http://drivingblind.livejournal.com/349411.html

[15] Wookiepedia: http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page

[16] Poisoncraft 4E: The Syrallax Available Now! : http://www.flamesrising.com/poisoncraft-4e-syrallax/

[17] One Bad Egg Releases Hard Boiled Cultures for Dungeons & Dragons 4E : http://www.flamesrising.com/obe-hard-boiled-cultures/

[18] Previews of new Goodman Games RPGs! : http://www.flamesrising.com/goodman-games-feb-march/

[19] New from Mongoose Publishing: Quintessential Wizard for 4th edition : http://www.flamesrising.com/mongoose-quintessential-wizard/

[20] WotC interviews Eberron author Jeff LaSala : http://www.flamesrising.com/wotc-lasala-interview/

Copyright © 2009 Flames Rising. All rights reserved.