- Flames Rising - http://www.flamesrising.com -

Dungeons & Dragons 4th Edition Release

Posted By Matt-M-McElroy On June 8, 2008 @ 7:00 am In News | No Comments

We’ve had our review of the 4th Edition Dungeons & Dragons [1] posted for a few days already. The review seems to be pretty popular as well. We also reported that Wizards of the Coast will be a Co-Sponsor at GenCon [2] recently.

Flames Rising is primarily a Horror & Dark Fantasy website, but we really can’t ignore a new edition of D&D. Other sites with a bit more focus on the game have plenty of interesting discussion going on, the RPGNet D&D Forum [3], EN World [4] and Story Games [5], just to name a few.

Initial reports have been pretty positive, some retailers are mentioning decent sales and online offers from Amazon.com [6] and Noble Knight Games [7] also seem to be in high demand.

Aside from some colorful commentary, many people seem to be enjoying the new game. There are plenty of positive threads on the forums I linked to above and some free resources on the Wizards of the Coast website [8].

Locally, things seemed to be hit-or-miss. I’ve seen a few reports of local games, but also a few of poor Madison game store management. This seems to be pretty standard around here. Some stores are on top of current events and new releases, others not-so-much. Still, we’ve got Grumbling Dwarf [9] for local news, games and other cool events going on in the area.

Here at Flames Rising we are looking for more Dungeons & Dragons reviews. Drop by the Submissions Page [10] to check out our guidelines and send in your thoughts on these new books.


Article printed from Flames Rising: http://www.flamesrising.com

URL to article: http://www.flamesrising.com/dnd-4th-weekend/

URLs in this post:

[1] 4th Edition Dungeons & Dragons: http://www.flamesrising.com/dnd-4th-edition-review

[2] Co-Sponsor at GenCon: http://www.flamesrising.com/wotc-gencon

[3] RPGNet D&D Forum: http://forum.rpg.net/forumdisplay.php?f=89

[4] EN World: http://www.enworld.org

[5] Story Games: http://www.story-games.com/forums

[6] Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0786950633?ie=UTF8&tag=flamesrising-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0786950633

[7] Noble Knight Games: http://www.nobleknight.com/affiliate/aw.asp?B=3&A=20&Task=Click

[8] Wizards of the Coast website: http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/welcome

[9] Grumbling Dwarf: http://www.grumblingdwarf.net

[10] Submissions Page: http://www.flamesrising.com/submission-guidelines

[11] Battle for the Undercity available now! : http://www.flamesrising.com/battle-for-the-undercity/

[12] D&D: Sword Coast Legends coming to Mac and Linux : http://www.flamesrising.com/sword-coast-legends-to-mac/

[13] Avert the Cataclysmic Return of Tiamat : http://www.flamesrising.com/rise-of-tiamat/

[14] FINAL WEEK to buy d20 MasterKit products! : http://www.flamesrising.com/final-week-d20-masterkit/

[15] The Shield of Weeping Ghosts Available Now! : http://www.flamesrising.com/weeping-ghosts/

Copyright © 2009 Flames Rising. All rights reserved.