Tag Archive | "dresden-files"

Flames

October is Dresden Files month at Dabel Brothers Publishing!

Posted on October 4, 2008 by

October is a special month for The Dresden Files. Why you ask? Because Halloween happens to be the birthday of one Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden…i.e. everyone’s favorite magic-wielding, hard-boiled detective, and star of the much beloved Dresden Files series of novels by author Jim Butcher.

In celebration of that, and in recognition of the warm reception to the first Dabel Brothers *Dresden Files* original comic book series written by Butcher, Welcome to the Jungle, we are excited to declare October as Dresden Files month at Dabel Brothers Publishing! We have quite a few Dresden
things happening this month…

[...more]
Monica Valentinelli

Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files Comic Review

Posted on August 19, 2008 by

Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden is back and invading the world of comics in a series entitled, Welcome to the Jungle. Don’t know who Harry Dresden is? Well, if you haven’t met Chicago’s favorite wizard yet, this four-part comic series is a good introduction to the world of Harry Dresden and his friends.

In Welcome to the Jungle, Harry Dresden has an unusual innocent to save–a gorilla named “Moe.” Accused of violently murdering a victim in Lincoln Park Zoo, Harry Dresden rushes in to investigate, spurred on by Lieutenant Murphy. Just when he picks up the trail of the “real” killer, things get sticky as our lucky hero gets right into the middle of a death match with supernaturally-charged lions. With a little help from his partner-in-crime, Bob, Dresden tracks down the source of the possessed animals–but is it too late? Will Dresden be able to stop a big evil from taking over Chicago?

[...more]
Flames

Dresden Files: “Storm Front” Comic Book Creative Team Announced

Posted on July 5, 2008 by

The Dabels follow up Welcome to the Jungle with adaptation of Jim Butcher’s Storm Front

Dabel Brothers Publishing announced today that Mark Powers and Ardian Syaf will be the creative team adapting Jim Butcher’s Storm Front to comics. Considering the success of Harry Dresden’s first comic book appearance in Jim Butcher’s original story, Welcome to the Jungle, the Dabel Brothers couldn’t wait to begin production on Storm Front.

[...more]
Flames

New Dresden Files Titles

Posted on June 19, 2008 by

Backup,” a twelve thousand word novelette set in Jim Butcher’s ultra-popular Dresden Files series. This time Harry’s in trouble he knows nothing about, and it’s up to his big brother Thomas to track him down and solve those little life-threatening difficulties without his little brother even noticing.

Backup is available for pre-order at Amazon.com.

[...more]
Matt-M-McElroy

Kenneth Hite joins Dresden Files RPG team

Posted on May 27, 2008 by

Fred Hicks just posted some very cool news on his LiveJournal: Good news! Evil Hat has inked a deal with Kenneth Hite to have him write the Occult Chicago chapter for the Dresden Files RPG, blending the locations and events of the novels together with Ken’s real-life research into Chicago, where he currently resides. I’m […]

[...more]
Flames

Many Bloody Returns Fiction Review

Posted on April 1, 2008 by

The problem I have with anthologies is that the quality of the stories varies greatly, as far as I’ve read. Thus, I am not a big fan. Indeed, the authors in this collection are varied: some of them you know well from various paranormal novels, while others are dipping into the supernatural for the first time (they’re primarily mystery writers, on the cosy side, I think). Instead of judging the collection as a whole, let’s look at the stories individually:

Review by Tez Miller

[...more]
Matt-M-McElroy

Flash Fire Mini-Reviews (Scary Short Stories)

Posted on March 14, 2008 by

Last week we talked about the most well-known vampire in the world, Dracula. The Dark Prince will probably return for another round of Mini-Reviews at a later date, since we only had the chance to check out a few of the products featuring Dracula and there are certainly many more available.

This week we are going to take a look at some great collections of scary stories. There are fiction anthologies on every subject imaginable. Fans of Horror & Dark Fantasy have many authors and publishers to choose from. Some of the authors featured in this week’s mini-reviews include Jim Butcher, Laurell K. Hamilton, Kelley Armstrong, David Wellington, C.J. Henderson, Tanith Lee and Patricia A. McKillip…just to name a few.

Here are a few anthologies that I’ve had the chance to check out recently…

[...more]
Matt-M-McElroy

Flash Fire Mini-Reviews (Books of Magic)

Posted on February 29, 2008 by

The Flash Fire Mini-Reviews are back with a mix of fiction, games and comics this week. Mages, Wizards, Witches and other spell-slinging heroes, villains and monsters make appearances in this collection of reviews.

We’re looking at a variety of magical styles, ranging from the dark and evil to the divinely inspired. I’m not talking about spellbooks here, but magic wielding characters or plots about magic in the world around them. We’ve got Harry Dresden, Willow and Redcloak alongside some Live-Action Mage and the Unwanted.

Anyway, let’s get on with those mini-reviews…

[...more]
Flames

Flames Rising Shopping Updates

Posted on February 6, 2008 by

Lots of updates to the Flames Rising Amazon Store today. Horror & Dark Fantasy fiction, games, movies and more. Included in these updates is the option to pre-order: Ventrue: Lords Over the Damned (Vampire the Requiem) Battlestar Galactica (Season 3) Small Favor (Dresden Files) Purge the Unclean (Dark Heresy) Over at FlamesRising.RPGNow.com you can check […]

[...more]
Flames

Small Favor (Dresden Files) Review

Posted on February 4, 2008 by

Sometimes, as an author, you might have it in your head that you’re going to write a very long story. Instead of writing an “epic novel” in one book, you break it up into smaller pieces so that when the end is in sight, the pieces fall together neatly like a stack of dominoes. Small Favor was, to me, one of the dominoes of the over-arching plot. While it tied up a lot of previous plots, it also opened the door to a host of questions for Thomas, Murphy, Michael and, of course, Dresden.

Review by Monica Valentinelli

[...more]
Matt-M-McElroy

New Reviews at Flames Rising!

Posted on January 21, 2008 by

We are still working on a few of the details behind-the scenes on the new site. However, here are a bunch of new Reviews to dig into! Neil Gaiman’s “Two Plays for Voices” Audiobook Doctor Strange Animated Movie Changeling: the Lost RPG In the Serpent’s Coils Novel 30 Days of Night Movie Kitty and the […]

[...more]
Monica Valentinelli

The Dresden Files TV Series Review

Posted on January 2, 2008 by

The Dresden Files, a series of novels penned by Jim Butcher, came to the small screen in 2007 on the SciFi channel bringing with it some variations – both good and bad. This is a difficult review to write for two reasons. First, the series was canceled after only twelve episodes. In such a short period of time, there wasn’t a lot of ability for the directors to explore the setting in this format. As a result, the events in this series loosely resemble only a few, choice events from one or two books. Secondly, this television series didn’t feel like a literal translation from the novels and, as a result, could easily stand alone on its own merits.

[...more]
Flames

White Night (Dresden Files) Review

Posted on June 2, 2007 by

The Ninth novel of the Dresden Files series, White Night advances the plot that has been building up for the last few books. This novel also features more than a few characters from previous books in what feels like a “Who has a beef with Harry?” vibe. Heroes and Villains show up in this story, trading blows and witty dialog throughout.

[...more]

11 Tales of Ghostly Horror

    Monthly Newsletter Sign Up

    join our monthly mailing list
    * indicates required

    The Devil’s Night WoD SAS

    Free Devil's Night | White Wolf

    Become a Fan on Facebook!

    Reviews Wanted!

    The new Review Guidelines have been posted on the Flames Rising website. We are currently seeking a few good reviewers to help us expand our collection of horror and dark fantasy reviews. RPGs, fiction, movies, video games and more are all welcome on the site...

    What do you get out of it?

    Beyond helping out fellow Flames Rising readers by letting them know what you think of these products, we're giving away some pretty cool stuff. Regular Reviewers can earn free products to review, which is their to keep after the review is submitted to the site.

    Note: We are especially looking for folks interested in reviewing eBooks (both Fiction & Comics). We have lots of great titles in digital format and even get advance copies sometimes.

    Use the Contact Page to submit reviews or let us know if you have any questions.