- Flames Rising - http://www.flamesrising.com -

Witch Blood (Elemental Witches, Book 2) Review

Posted By Flames On May 15, 2008 @ 5:10 am In Fiction | No Comments


Available at Amazon.com
[1]

Anya Bast
Witch Blood (Elemental Witches, Book 2)
Penguin (4th March 2008)

The second installment of the Elemental Witches perhaps unintentionally brings up the question of who’s more evil: demons, or the warlocks who summon them. Or, if you prefer: guns, or the people who use them. The answer in this novel seems to be demons (guns), which is good news for me, who had a thing for hot French warlock Stefan Faucheux in a previous installment.

Another perhaps unintentional issue is what’s more important: being protected, or being independent? The former prevails in this case, which came as a disappointment because the novel is at its most interesting when water witch Isabelle Novak and earth witch Thomas Monahan are apart.

Witch Blood is a step up from its predecessor (Witch Fire) in terms of stakes and world-building. Be patient, readers, because the action really kicks in with a surprise on page 283. Also stay tuned to the end to catch an excerpt of The Darkest Kiss (which has since been renamed The Chosen Sin), a futuristic romance with what little I’ve read seems to be intriguing world-building.

Anya Bast is doing what all authors should be doing: improving with each novel. I’m really looking forward to reading The Chosen Sin, future Elemental Witches instalments and whatever else the author has in store for us.

Review by Tez Miller


Article printed from Flames Rising: http://www.flamesrising.com

URL to article: http://www.flamesrising.com/witch-blood-review/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0425220435?ie=UTF8&tag=flamesrising-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0425220435

[2] Heroes Adrift Fiction Review : http://www.flamesrising.com/heroes-adrift-review/

[3] Witch Fire (Elemental Witches, Book 1) Review : http://www.flamesrising.com/witch-fire-review/

[4] Claimed by Shadow Fiction Review : http://www.flamesrising.com/claimed-by-shadow-fiction-review/

[5] Magic Lost, Trouble Found Fiction Review : http://www.flamesrising.com/magic-lost-trouble-found-fiction-review/

[6] Seraphs Review : http://www.flamesrising.com/seraphs-review/

Copyright © 2009 Flames Rising. All rights reserved.