- Flames Rising - http://www.flamesrising.com -

WotC to Co-Sponsor Gen Con Indy 2008

Posted By Flames On May 19, 2008 @ 12:12 pm In News | 1 Comment

Gen Con [1] is pleased to announce that once again Wizards of the Coast, will be a co-sponsor of Gen Con Indy. Fans of all ages come to Gen Con each year to see and experience the latest in analog and digital gaming, and Wizards’ participation is a highlight for many fans. This year, Wizards of the Coast will be showing off their latest offerings, including the release of Dungeons & Dragons® 4th Edition.

“We are so pleased to have Wizards of the Coast once again be a sponsor of Gen Con. Its long history with the show, as well as the popularity of its products makes it an integral part of the entire Gen Con experience,” said Adrian Swartout, president of Gen Con.

At Gen Con this year, Wizards of the Coast will be celebrating the newly released D&D® 4th Edition by debuting the new Living Forgotten Realms® campaign as well as 20 years of the Legend of Drizzt. New York Times best-selling author R.A. Salvatore will be signing sample chapters of The Pirate King [2], the second book in the Transitions trilogy and sample chapters of The Stowaway, co-authored with his son Geno Salvatore.

Gen Con will be held at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis from August 14 through 17. Celebrating its 41st year and going strong, Gen Con is no ordinary convention. Attendees do everything from browsing the aisles of the exhibit hall packed with over 300 booths to taking part in any number of the 5,000 gaming events happening 24 hours a day over the four days. Gaming activities range from interactive game play and computer gaming to big money hobby-related tournaments.

To Attend Gen Con
Gen Con Indy will be open to the public Thursday, August 14, through Sunday, August 17. Thursday through Saturday the exhibit hall is open 10 am to 6 pm and Sunday from 10 am to 4 pm. 24 hour gaming takes place at the convention center and at area hotels 24 hours a day during the four day event.

Attendees must purchase badges to gain entrance to the show. Badge pre-registration is open and runs through June 28, 2008, noon PST. A four-day badge is $65 with pre-registration, or $75 on site. A one-day badge is $35 with pre-registration, or $45 on site. All pre-registration prices include tax. Children 8 and under are free with an accompanying adult. For more information and to register, call (800) 529-EXPO or visit www.gencon.com [1].


Article printed from Flames Rising: http://www.flamesrising.com

URL to article: http://www.flamesrising.com/wotc-gencon/

URLs in this post:

[1] Gen Con: http://www.gencon.com

[2] The Pirate King: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0786949643?ie=UTF8&tag=flamesrising-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0786949643

[3] Ed Greenwood Presents Elminster’s Forgotten Realms : http://www.flamesrising.com/elminsters-forgotten-realms/

[4] Discussing Gauntlgrym with author R.A. Salvatore and Contest! : http://www.flamesrising.com/gauntlgrym-interview-salvatore/

[5] Road of the Patriarch Review : http://www.flamesrising.com/road-of-the-patriarch-review/

[6] Promise of the Witch King Review : http://www.flamesrising.com/promise-witch-king-review/

[7] The Shield of Weeping Ghosts Available Now! : http://www.flamesrising.com/weeping-ghosts/

Copyright © 2009 Flames Rising. All rights reserved.